Why I Organized my Closet This Weekend?

Robert Trajkovski
2 min readApr 7, 2021

--

..and why you should

Photo by Андрей Постовой on Unsplash

Ten years ago I cut my wardrobe by 50%. I was moving and just simply got rid of half of my clothes by donating them. Then I took half of the remaining, 25% and placed them in storage. So I moved with only 25% of my original clothes.

Was that enough clothes?

Yes, and more than enough. But as usual I kept slowly adding items over time. And now I am in the situation that probably have way too many clothes.

I love the 80/20 rule. If I apply it to my clothes problem it would tell me that I probably wear 20% of my clothes 80% of the time.

Is that correct?

Well, it is a rule and it just happens that for me it fits. I probably have too many clothes once again. I need to do a purge.

So what is my plan?

Last weekend I organized my closet. I have decided to wear each item in order and at the end of the day decide whether I like it or not. If not, put it in the donate pile.

Why try the clothes instead of just donating half?

Today I came down with a polo shirt on. My wife quickly noticed and asked me why I was wearing a new shirt.

I laughed because that polo shirt is at least 6 years old. It was new in her eyes because she had not seen it for so long.

Having too many clothes is a first world problem. We buy crap and keep buying crap that we don’t wear. We must get better at living with less.

Sometimes I like to think of myself as a minimalist. Well, I have to say that when it comes to clothes that would be a lie. I have way too many clothes.

My plan is over the next 3 months to get rid of at least half of my clothes. Maybe my closet will look like the one in the picture. Joking…it will be small and only hold items that I love to wear and actually wear often.

My four cents….(this is what I earned from Medium.com for March 2021)

I got to go…my future self alarm went off

PRODUCT LIST 2021

My first product of the year is the t-shirt with a circle. It can be purchased at

https://teespring.com/be-adaptive?pid=212&cid=5819

My second product is MyLin app. It can be viewed following the link below:

With MyLin app you can capture the eye of the hiring manager in a new innovative way. You WILL stand out!!! YOU will…

My Third product is a clean design T-shirt available on Amazon:

Buy Be Adaptive v3 T-Shirt: Shop top fashion brands T-Shirts at Amazon.com ✓ FREE DELIVERY and Returns possible on…

--

--

Robert Trajkovski

I have led people and projects in Steel/ Power, Refining, Chemicals, Industrial Gasses, Software, Consulting and Academia. I have instructed 73+ courses.